InnerZone, Trance Spirits
by Paul Lemos, Under the Volcano
August, 2002

This has been a very active year for the master of dark ambient music, Steve Roach, who has just released two heavenly new collaborative recordings on Projekt records. Roach has spent the last 25 years developing aural landscapes of a deeply exotic, often disquieting nature, and with every release he explores new sonic territory that challenges his audience. INNERZONE continues Steve's work with Belgian composer Vidna Obmana, presenting seven extended dark, undulating electronic soundscapes. Highlights of the set are the quietly disturbing "Isolation" and the mysteriously pulsating 25-minute title track. INNERZONE provides a surreal sonic adventure that will entice listeners of ambient electronics.

TRANCE SPIRITS, Roach's first collaboration with Jeffrey Fayman, featuring guitar soundscapes by Robert Fripp, and percussion by Momodou Kah, is an equally fascinating sonic experience. These seven pieces are not nearly as dense and reverberating as those found on INNERZONE. The music of TRANCE SPIRITS, driven by Kah's intense percussion, is more precise and less experimental, but still highly textured and polished. The throbbing, insistent bed of percussion, over which Roach, Fayman and Fripp develop their mystical sound collages, creates a deeply hypnotic, trance inducing effect that will appeal to world music enthusiasts as well as dark ambient fans.


magnify magnify
CD  $15.00 
ON SALE, $10.00 
Steve Roach, Vidna Obmana
2002 Projekt PRO132 (CD)
Reviewed by Ambient Visions,, Ink 19, Sonic Curiosity, Star's End, StarVox, Under the Volcano

Step into the INNERZONE with surrealist soundsculptors Steve Roach and vidnaObmana on their first new collaborative work since 1999's quickly sold-out limited-edition box set ASCENSION OF SHADOWS. Venturing off safe and well travelled roads, the duo head into a chilling and beautifully haunting realm of shape-shifting soundscapes mixed with fascinating rhythmic forms. An unusual combination of instruments both acoustic and electronic can be heard on this compelling release. Central is the fujara, an Eastern European overtone flute, and the electric guitar — both creatively altered with a multitude of audio processing equipment to create a hybrid elecro-acoustic mix. The final merging of surreal acoustic, electronic elements and deep "inner" rhythms creates a bold new atmospheric music experience.
1. At the Edge of EverythingMP36:08 
2. StrandsMP38:39 
3. Cloud SpaceMP36:18 
4. Encounter PassageMP32:13 
5. IsolationMP314:04 
6. SpiresMP310:39 
7. InnerZoneMP325:23 

Trance Spirits

magnify magnify
CD out of stock
Trance Spirits
Steve Roach, Jeffrey Fayman, Robert Fripp, Momodou Kah
2002 Projekt PRO135 (CD)
Reviewed by Hannah M.G. Shapero, Bret Miller, Earwaves Media, Electroambient Space, e|i magazine, MusicTAP, New Age Voice, Outline Magazine, Sonic Curiosity, Under the Volcano

TRANCE SPIRITS by Steve Roach, Jeffrey Fayman, Robert Fripp and Momodou Kah represents the next step in genuine tribal ambient soundscapes. This amazing gathering of artists makes a magnificent leap into the future of acoustically-fused electronic music.

Five of the seven pieces are driven by a complex juggernaut of authentic African percussion, performed as long-form groove trance pieces by Fayman and Kah. As opposed to just using loops to conjure the desired mood, TRANCE SPIRITS is a real continuum of time, with subtle evolution within the tracks. Entwined with the shamanic / trance-inducing soundworlds created by Roach, and augmented by Fripp on three tracks, the combined effect unleashes the primal forces of nature with a boiling undercurrent of rich, transporting textures.
1. Taking Flight 10:36 
2. Trance SpiritsMP316:44 
3. Off Spring 8:10 
4. Seekers 7:20 
5. The Calling 5:47 
6. Year of the HorseMP313:34 
7. In The Same Deep Water 11:42 

Steve Roach News Music Discography Live Press Reviews Store Links Bio Contact