AlbumsGuest AppearancesVarious ArtistsProduction CreditsVideos

Symphony of the Harmony of Celestial Revelations

CD  $15.00 
ON SALE, $12.00 
Symphony of the Harmony of Celestial Revelations
The Complete Hildegard von Bingen Vol. 1

1996 Celestial Harmonies 13127 (CD)

Like the HARMONIC MEETINGS recording, this is another release that Steve draws inspiration from as a transition to silence. A rich atmosphere of medieval mysticism is felt at the heart of this music.

This first of four volumes of The Complete Hildegard von Bingen collection introduces listeners to a remarkable woman ahead of her time. Hildegard von Bingen (1098-1179) was born the tenth child to a noble family and was dedicated at birth to the church. At age three she began to have visions of luminous objects, but soon realized she was unique in this ability and kept these visions secret for many years. Hildegard's religious education, which began at the age of eight, consisted of an ascetic life of prayer and contemplation. At a time when few women were accorded respect, she lived to become a highly respected writer, poet, composer and visionary sought after for her counsel by bishops, popes and kings.

At 38, she became the head of a vibrant convent where later her musical plays were performed. Music was extremely important to Hildegard as she considered it a way for mortals to experience heavenly, or spiritual ecstasy. According to Hildegard, before the Fall of Man, Adam had a pure voice and joined the angels in singing praises to God. After the Fall, music was invented and musical instruments were made in order to worship God appropriately. Perhaps this best explains why Hildegard's music most often sounds like what we imagine angels singing to be like.

Recorded in the nineteenth century church at Toddington, a tiny village in the countryside of Gloucestershire in western England, Sinfonye recreates the imaginative spirit of this exceptional composer. Hildegard is known for her hymns, anthems and sequences honoring saints, virgins and Mary, and Sinfonye delivers an unforgettable celebration of these praises and metaphorical writings in the plainchant tradition -- a single vocal melodic line -- a tradition common in liturgical singing of her time.
1. Honey and Milk Beneath Her Tongue (Dripping Honeycomb - avus destillans) 7:46 
2. Ursula's Virgins (et ideo puelle) 2:28 
3. The Devil's Suggestion (O You Who Are Illumined - o tu illustrata) 7:09 
4. Place of the Ancient Heart (O You Angels - o vos angeli) 9:02 
5. Zeal of Divinity (studium divinitatis) 0:57 
6. O Fiery Spirit (o ignes spiritus) 7:16 
7. Red River Falling (o rubor sanguinis) 4:02 
8. O Orzchis EcclesiaMP32:12 
9. Living-Light Angels (o glorissimi lux vivens angeli) 6:37 
10. The Clouds Are Grieving (our king is swift-rex noster promptus est) 4:28 
11. The Firstwoman (deus enim in prima muliere) 1:43 
12. From Their Homeland (de patria)MP31:37 
13. But the Devil Mocked (sed diabolus in invidia) 2:27 
14. Song To Ecclesia (nunc gaudeant materna viscera ecclesia)MP33:02 

Steve Roach News Music Discography Live Press Reviews Store Links Bio Contact