The Serpent's Lair
by Ted Cox, NAPRA Review

Following his AFIM award-winning LIGHT FANTASTIC, Steve Roach returns to the studio with shamanic and trace drummer Byron Metcalf to create one of the best ambient electronic albums of the year. The first CD of this two part, two disc opus is filled with tribal drums, droning didgeridoos, djembes, and lots of shakers and rattles. The second disc creates a different ambience, mostly without the drumming and shakers, and includes three supernatural settings by Roach. "Offerings in Waves" is reminicent of the high energy of Roach's BODY ELECTRIC. "Impending Sense of Calm" exudes the peace and minimalism od deep space, as synth waves are punctuated by netherworld echoes. Other tracks feature the shamanic chants amd droning overtone voices akin to Tuva throat singers. THE SERPENT'S LAIR is a masterpiece of surreal and futuristic electronic creations juxtaposed with ancient drums and vocal textures.

The Serpent's Lair

magnify magnify
CD  $24.98 
ON SALE, $15.00 
The Serpent's Lair
Steve Roach, Byron Metcalf
2000 Projekt PRO107 (CD)
Reviewed by, AmbientVisions, Interface, Muze, NAPRA Review, Sonic Curiosity, The Raging Consciousness Desk

Beginning as a collaboration between Steve Roach and Byron Metcalf, the music on THE SERPENT'S LAIR evolved over the past year into an epic 2-CD set, augmented with a myriad of guests. This release has it all: Steve's ultra-soundworlds, hybrid grooves and magical production, combined with Byron's acoustic-organic tribal trance patterns. Aligning with themes of shamanic initiation found throughout the world, the music is rooted in the organic... the earth... the ancestors... It is here that one is confronted with all the essential elements of danger and possibility.
Disc 1: The Serpent's Lair
1. The LairMP312:14 
2. Rite of PassageMP314:09 
3. Shedding the SkinMP35:39 
4. Big MedicineMP312:53 
5. Future TribeMP38:30 
6. BirthrightMP35:59 
7. OsmosisMP34:04 
8. Egg Chamber DreamingMP38:53 
Disc 2: Offerings From the Underworld
1. Offering in WavesMP310:55 
2. Impending Sense of CalmMP39:03 
3. Cave DwellersMP323:08 
4. Primal PassageMP34:47 
5. Serpent ClanMP35:02 
6. Beating Heart of the Dragon MotherMP36:50 
7. OchuaMP39:26 

Steve Roach News Music Discography Live Press Reviews Store Links Bio Contact